We will not go quietly

As a woman, I am scared of a Trump presidency.

As a journalist, I am scared of a Trump presidency.

As someone with Mexican, African-American, and LGBT best friends (on speed dial kind of friends), I am scared of a Trump presidency.

As someone with a Hispanic boyfriend, I am scared of a Trump presidency.

As someone who will have to answer for my country when I move abroad in less than a year, I am scared of a Trump presidency.

As someone who has to put my nationality on a customs form in 47 days and many more times in the next four years, I am ASHAMED of a Trump presidency.

no-confidence

That isn’t right. That should never be right. That should never be the reaction of the world to a potential American president.

god-save-america
God forgive America (Spanish paper)

If you voted for Trump and have been vocal about it, at least you have balls to stand behind what you believe. That’s the nicest thing I can say to you and while I vehemently disagree with your choice, I can find some respect for owning up to it. If you voted for Trump from the shadows, looking over your shoulder, lying to pollsters, your family, and your friends, I hope you sleep well and long and aren’t troubled with the weight of the futures of Americans you just jeopardized with a small inked circle.

This was a conflagration of everything this country supposedly stands for and I do not understand. Or, rather, I unfortunately do.

I understand that America is full of scared people with outdated and harmful ideologies more than we thought and so here we are. I just didn’t want to believe that this land of the free and home of the brave was this fundamentally flawed, this broken, this backwards.

We have signed up for four years of being issued wounds that will leave blazing scars. We have signed up for mistrust and lies and uncertainties and rampant egos. Regardless of what Trump does going forward, his win has caused a gaping chasm in American society.

But we’re Americans, aren’t we? We bounce back, we persevere, we fight for justice, we overcome. We have done so for 240 years and just because we weren’t expecting to do so in 2016, here we are, and we’ll rally. We will not back down to this new surge of racism and sexism and unfounded fears of minorities and those who are different. We will not go quietly into that good night.

Enjoy your one-term presidency, Mr. Trump. And be prepared for millions of Americans to be coming at you with their ideas of how to make America truly great.

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

