Grad school…

…looks a lot like:

14590289_1239933219397278_4538418190838699010_n

Coffee

Forgetting about things ’til the last minute

Three part-time jobs and a every-once-in-a-while job, yes I know that sounds confusing

More responsibility at work

More stress at work

Not seeing friends for weeks at a time

Stress about finding a job. in my field. with a living wage. in a country with 42% unemployment for people my age.

Playing piano + realizing the Rachmaninoff from senior year of high school is a distant dream

Not taking Indianapolis for granted

Lots of Skyping internationally

Excitement about the future but also stress (See above) but also oh my gosh I actually am doing the thing where I move to another country like I’ve wanted for 10 years.

Relying on advisors and certain professors for encouragement and validation that I’m on the right track

500 words of a student evaluation written by mid-semester because I take them seriously and effective rants take time

Realizing that Kilroys is a national treasure

Dreaming about Rio

Dreaming about Spain

Not posting on Instagram in three weeks (record)

Compensating by posting on Twitter way too often

Enjoying and appreciating mom’s homemade food

Etc.

 

2 thoughts on “Grad school…

  1. swhitt222@aol.com

    love the post…..happy i have a pcture of you to remind me that you are beautiful, energetic, competant and have a wonderful smile….keep posting

    love, grammy

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

