Até Pronto, Brasil

As many of you probably already know from Facebook/Twitter (Where HAVEN’T I posted about this tbh), I am heading to Rio de Janeiro TOMORROW to cover the Olympics.

YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY.

I scored an internship with the U.S. Olympic Committee, along with three other students, to cover the 2016 Summer Games.

I’m excited, pumped, thrilled, ecstatic, joyful, where’s my thesaurus.

Covering the Olympics is my dream. It combines everything good and wonderful in this life: writing, sports, traveling, and a never-ending parade of cultures and languages.

I found out three days after graduation, after going through a multi-step application process in February/March. Best phone call of my life (shout-out to my entire family for not being home that day so I had to scream and scare my dog by myself. Dogs don’t know how to differentiate between, “OMG MY HUMAN IS IN TROUBLE I MUST BARK AND FIX IT BECAUSE #BARKING” and “OMG MY HUMAN IS EXCITED I MUST BE CALM AND LET HER HUG ME AND CRY AND NOT BARK BECAUSE BARKING IS BAD BAD DOG OMG KENNEL TIME”).

It was the latter kind this time around.

25 days of my life will revolve around sports and only sports pretty much 24/7. As in there are a few beach volleyball games scheduled for midnight local time so you think I’m kidding? I’m not.

Sports are the greatest. If my career lets me write features and profiles in any journalism specialty, I’ll be happy. If I get to do that within the sports world? I’ll be over the moon. In no other subset of society do you get such emotional extremes and such an intricate intersection of people from literally all walks of life. It’s fascinating to watch and it’s fascinating to write about and be in the middle of. Bonus of being a journalist not an athlete is that I don’t have the bruises and injuries to go with the thrilling parts.

I am going to try my best to update the blog with pictures and stories as I go but I suspect many of them will have to wait until I get home. But never fear! They will be coming at some point.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Até Pronto, Brasil

  1. If you are there and taking pics and post-event blogging, I know we will all be waiting even 20 days for the news(it may not be current news but it will have that “Becky take” on events and happenings”. And may those happenings fill the large heart you have for all things you love and we will be able to love them too. God bless you and keep you and give you a thousand memories to treasure. Grammy

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

