London: Day 3

Jess left the night before because of an unexpected work meeting Monday morning, but I still had one more day left.

I got quite a late start due to an unfortunately timed migraine and a poor night’s sleep. The day before I had bought a ticket to see “Miss Saigon” on the West End on impulse. In my defense, it’s a better impulse buy than most things. As such, I didn’t want to push myself to leave super early with a headache and make it worse.

I walked across London Bridge and down along the Thames to the Tower of London. I got fish and chips for lunch (finally. Fish+Chips make the world go round and if you don’t believe me, you’re wrong) and then joined a tour of the tower. At the start, a very nice young guy introduced himself and became was my attachment the entire time. Which was cool, I guess, if you like guys who think the Tower of London is a good place to pick up girls (I mean. Historically speaking people get rid of women there…). He disappeared after the tour and walk through the Crown Jewels building so I hope he made it out.

I wandered my way through the metros and various shops without actually buying anything (so proud of myself). I tried to find a Pret a Manger that wasn’t busy (haha. ha) but ended up somewhat lost in London’s chinatown and got food from a street vendor. Yes I’m surprised I was never sick. I finally went to the theatre an outrageous hour and a half early considering I was already in the area but hey. I got a drink and sat at the theatre balcony bar so all’s well that ends well.

IMG_4628 IMG_4626

“Miss Saigon” was a dream. I saw almost the original cast (one main character was different). However the lead actress playing Kim was the original actress in the revival and she was incredible. Only 18 and her only theatre credits before this one were high school productions and one win at a national competition. What am I even doing with my life?

I’d never seen the musical before but loved the music so it was difficult to not hum along. The staging and lighting were amazing, the actors wonderful, and the story moving as always.

IMG_4633 IMG_4631  IMG_4623

It was an amazing last night in London and I easily could’ve spent another week there if not for the astronomically high costs (sorry London I still love ya). But the next day I was off to Madrid again to say goodbye to Spain and the boy (Post HERE from forever ago as this blog is 110% out of chronological order).

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

