The Adventure of My Life

If you haven’t noticed, there’s a new little box on the side of the blog.

In tiny letters it reads “España.”

In slightly larger letters it reads, “Saliendo para la aventura de mi vida.”

And in English it states, “3 Months.”

Saliendo para la aventura de mi vida.

Three months (give or take a few hours), I will be on a plane to a country I have never visited before, to live with people I have never met, and take classes in a language I know half as well as my native one.

I think “la aventura de mi vida,” or “the adventure of my life,” is fairly apt.

I’m honestly a bit terrified.

I’ve been dreaming of this since I returned from Mexico at 13 bitten by the travel/exploration bug with no hope of a cure.

This is a trip seven, almost eight, years in the making.

I’m overwhelmingly excited.

But I’m not ashamed to admit that, yes, I am overwhelmingly scared, too.

Who wouldn’t be?

I will be leaving everyone and everything I know. Even the simplest idea (like black rice paella. Look it up.) makes me nervous depending on the day.

I sent off for my visa just a few days ago. Soon, the government will be sending me back a document giving me permission to study abroad.

I will be buying my plane ticket in the next month or so.

I will also be filling out a housing survey, much like the one I completed to find my roommate here at IUPUI. Except this time, it is much more high stakes. This housing survey will not determine just a single person I will have to tolerate for a year, as it did here in the States. This housing survey will determine which family of strangers will be learning about me, knowing my likes and dislikes, coping with my homesickness, and helping me adjust to a brand-new culture.

So yeah, I’m scared.

But the more I go through these steps and through the overwhelming process, the more I realize that God has put me exactly where I needed to be, which is exactly where He wanted me. Those of you who follow me closely know that just getting to this point has been a struggle four months in the making.

And in the end, it has all worked out gloriously.

“There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under the heavens.”–Ecclesiastes 3:1

My acceptance to the program came right when it was supposed to. Not too early, not too late.

I think these last four months were God equipping me to deal with the fear and the nervousness. I went through such challenges to get to the point where I can stare at my acceptance letter daily, that even through the fear, I never once consider backing out.

I made it this far. I will make it through the next three months of crazy. And then I will make it through the next 5+ months of beautiful insanity.

And guess what?

At the end, God will have dumped a 5-month adventure of a lifetime in my lap that I will remember forever.

And in the end, that’s enough to overcome the fear, get on that plane January 12th, and head into the unknown.

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

