Celebrity Status

A friend told me recently to be prepared for Jennifer Lawrence to fall from grace.

My first reaction was to restrain myself from telling him that we were no longer friends because J-Law is perfect.

My second reaction was that, unfortunately, he’s probably right.

I’ve often admired her candid interviews and her flat-out refusal to conform to Hollywood norms. As far as celebrities go, she seems to be grounded in reality and smart enough to not make stupid decisions. She can be a bit rough around the edges but overall, I’d consider her a good role model for girls.

But I was thinking.

How many other celebrities have had that said about them for the first few years of their careers? Or in some cases, the first decade of their careers?

Miley Cyrus, Lindsay Lohan, Amanda Bynes, Justin Bieber….the list could go on.

All of the above were famous at a fairly young age (pre-20 years old).

Miley Cyrus and “Hannah Montana.”

Amanda Bynes and “The Amanda Show.”

Lindsay Lohan and “The Parent Trap.”

Justin Bieber and the “My World” cd.

All young and full of promise. And slowly one by one, each of them has been put in the national spotlight time and time again for reasons other than the ones they were chosen to grace the American Sweetheart stage for to begin with.

Cyrus and her recreational drug use and decidedly adult “artistic” choices.

Bynes and her hit-and-runs, and stints in mental facilities.

Lohan and her DUI and actual drug usage.

Bieber and his vile interactions with fans and reckless driving.

There’s no way to tell if they would have gone down the same paths if it weren’t for Hollywood and the music industry. No one owns a time machine (as far as I know). We can’t say for sure that it was the constant exposure and pressure to succeed and a childhood spent under the lights and on a stage (real and metaphorical).

However, I would bet a lot of money that it was.

Middle school and high school is rough. I was removed from most of the peer pressure and dangers of falling through the social cracks due to being homeschooled but it was still emotionally rough.

I couldn’t imagine for a second going through it but with millions of people watching my ugly duckling/braces/awkward/inept-at-talking-to-the-opposite-gender-especially-if-I-liked-him phase.

I’m not going to sit here and say that the above four had it all rough. They’re all richer than I will probably ever be or my siblings or parents will ever be. They will never have to worry about going hungry, finding somewhere to sleep, finding a job, or if they have enough money to go out with the rest of their friends to a movie or to dinner.

But riches can only buy so much. And two of the items on the “Can’t Buy” list are normalcy and peace, two items I wouldn’t trade for the world.

The media has been relatively quiet recently when it comes to young starlets. No major news has broken as of this week. It’s indicative of current standards and conditions among the entertainment industry’s elite young that I am waiting patiently for the ball to drop. It will drop again no matter how hopeful we are that it won’t.

It might be Jennifer Lawrence. It might be one of the aforementioned four yet again.

And I find that incredibly sad.

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

