Food for Thought

I’m not going to talk about actual food for once. Sorry guys.

Instead, I’m going to leave you with some food for the mind. This post is quite a bit deeper than I usually go so bear with me.

 

A week ago, John Gilpin, a former coach for my brother’s football team and a strong Christian, died unexpectedly of a heart attack. He left behind his biological family, four children and a wife and countless others, however, he also left behind a grieving football family.

I don’t remember where I first saw it and I’ve seen it a few times since. But one of the most striking statements I saw was a simple one that described John Gilpin’s death as a “homecoming.”

That last word hit me rather hard.

We use homecoming in a lot of ways in this world.

Homecoming dances are a rite of passage in high school, second only to prom.

“Homecoming” is the name of a B-grade horror movie.

Just this past week, the media talked over and over again about Peyton Manning’s homecoming in Indianapolis.

How different those are from John Gilpin’s homecoming.

I didn’t know him personally. I don’t recall ever meeting him or shaking his hand. All I knew about John Gilpin was what I heard from my brother and from my parents.

Yet there I was, crying over a simple word used to describe a man’s death.

His type of homecoming is different. It is an eternal homecoming. An eternal dance and celebration in a place where he will never feel pain or hurt in any way ever again, with someone he has put his faith in for a lifetime.

And I for one think that’s the most beautiful type of homecoming any of us could possibly look forward to.

One thought on “Food for Thought

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

