My Alter Ego

Every once in awhile I like to pretend that I’m a homey, nurturing, domestic kind of person. This other person is my alter ego. This person actually goes by her full name Rebecca and keeps everything “eat off the floor”* clean and owns dishes that look frosted but actually aren’t (thanks terrible dishwasher/soap) and also has a 4.0 GPA in Home Ec.

I go through this phase every few weeks.

And you can tell when I’ve gone through this phase because I make food. A lot of food. That doesn’t come out of a box and isn’t called spaghetti.

So for you lovely people today, I have compiled a short list of the food I have made recently (ish) that are among my favorites. And I’m not claiming any grandiose cooking skills or anything. Some of this may seem fairly simple. But these are easy recipes that taste amazing and again, do not come out of a box. Which is saying something for a college student who never made anything but cookies until last fall (but darn it my cookies are perfection).

 

1. Cranberry Biscuits

This recipe came from a post by Whitney at The Glam Life of a Housewife. The original recipe called for blueberries but blueberries and my palate do not get along so I made a simple switch to (frozen) cranberries. Don’t judge me.

HERE is the recipe! When she calls them “beautiful” she isn’t kidding.

1071070_565003236890283_281737242_o

 

 

 

2. Egg Rolls

These were a little trickier. And I sadly do not have a picture of the finished product because I’m stupid and didn’t take one. I’m posting the picture I do have just to prove I did actually make them.

HERE is the recipe! Found at allrecipes.com (which is my go-to recipe website when pinterest just makes me feel bad about myself).

Notes: I used a partial bag of coleslaw mix instead of buying carrots/cabbage separately. Use more seasoning on the pork than you think you have to. I’m going to try adding a bit of soy sauce next time.

1290807_581427275247879_1774310475_o (1)

 

 

3. Parmesan Knots

Far and away the BEST recipe I have ever tried and succeeded at making. I ate three in one sitting. They were THAT good. Also the easiest and least time consuming of anything I’ve tried making which is super beneficial to me, as a busy college student, and I’m sure it’d be a nice thing for all you working professionals out there.

HERE is the recipe! First discovered on pinterest (it is good…sometimes) and originally by Laura at Real Mom Kitchen

1228758_585974998126440_1748970307_o

 

 

4. Pork w/Sautéed onions and ditalini pasta

This is a “meal” recipe. I’ve made it before and it was ok. But I tried it again the other night and it was super delicious.Directions (You can modify this to fit your own needs. This was me cooking for one person with enough for leftovers):

Start a pan of water to boil. Start two frying pans on medium-high heat.

1 Pork loin chop (I picked up a pack of the extra thick cut just because more protein=more filling). Cut in half lengthwise and then across the middle. Season with whatever you feel like seasoning it with (I chose just salt/pepper).

Cut part of an onion (however much you’d like. I used about half of one). Put it to the side and start

Put the four pork pieces in a pan on medium-high with the tiniest bit of EVOO.

By this time, your water should be close to boiling. When it does boil, put in 3/4 cup of the ditalini pasta (or the pasta of your choice).

Flip your pork pieces and put your onions in the other pan along with a bit of EVOO and salt/pepper.

Keep an eye on everything especially the pork.

The onions and pasta should be done around the same time (You can test onions by trying to pick one up with a fork). Drain the pasta and put the onions directly from the pan onto the plate.

The pork will take _________ amount of time to finish but shouldn’t be too long after the pasta and onions. The first time I made it it took me almost 50 minutes because my stove was terrible. This time it took me around 30 minutes and was thoroughly cooked and had a beautiful color. So it will just depend on how high your heat is and how well your stovetop operates.

Put everything onto the plate and enjoy 🙂

 

986998_588100587913881_1262507554_o

 

 

5.. Oatmeal Coconut Cookies

This recipe originally came from my mom. So there’s no fancy link for this one 🙂

These have been my favorite kind of cookie for as long as I can remember. They have recently been approved by several college student friends so that’s when you know a cookie has arrived to the big leagues.

Recipe (half-batch):

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

1 stick of butter: 1 cup brown sugar: 1 egg: 1 tsp vanilla—-cream butter and b. sugar together then mix in other two ingredients

1 cup flour: 1/2 tsp baking soda: 1/2 tsp baking powder—add to other ingredients and mix

1/2 cup oats: 1/4 cup coconut (I just use the frozen flakes)—add to other ingredients and mix

Bake for 8-10 minutes (Helpful tip from my mom: These cookies spread a lot. So either keep them far apart when baking or chill the dough for awhile first).

1230460_588922754498331_35062219_o

 

 

 

 

ENJOY! 😀

 

college-freshman-meme-cooking

 

*I personally feel like if you’re eating off the floor, your mental state is probably such that you live somewhere where they don’t let you around sharp knives or hot stoves or children.

 

One thought on “My Alter Ego

  1. Sis

    Another super quick recipe if you have a crockpot, but could also work in the oven as well. Chicken breasts with Campbell’s cream of chicken soup; serve with mashed potatoes and green beans. Excellent comfort food!

Post a Comment, Any Comment (But No One Likes Disrespectful Donkeys)

